DMPQ- Mention the provisions of Minority Commission.

Minority Commission:

  • The “Minorities Commission”, aimed to safeguard and protect the interests of the minorities, was set up by the Government of India in January, 1978.
  • This Commission became a statutory body and was renamed as the “National Commission for Minorities” with the enactment of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992.
  • Under Section 2(C) of this Act, the Government of India, vide notification dated 23rd October, 1993, notified five religious communities, namely, Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists and Zorastrians (Parsis) as minority communities in India.
  • Similarly, in the Sixth Plan (1980-85) it was acknowledged that the minorities were a separate socioeconomic group and hence special provisions were made for them through the Minimum Needs Programme
OPSC  Notes brings Prelims and Mains programs for OPSC  Prelims and OPSC  Mains Exam preparation. Various Programs initiated by OPSC  Notes are as follows:- For any doubt, Just leave us a Chat or Fill us a querry––

Subscribe to OPSC Notes

Never Miss any OPSC important update!

Join 247 other subscribers